View Plans & Pricing

If you are signed in and are seeing this message, please be sure you have selected a user name in My Profile. The forum requires it.
A A A
Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 (0 votes) 
sp_TopicIcon
90 and 180 Player Final Table Question
Croc1
Guests
January 3, 2011 - 1:29 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hey gang,

I'm fairly new to TPE and, after watching a couple videos of BigDog and Panda, thought I would tip-toe into the online tourney world.  I have had great early success (TOTALLY thanks to TPE!!) but have noticed something familiar each time.  When I got to the final table of both my 180-player tourney and my 90-player one, play seemed to digress into a “all-in festival”.  Damn the torpedoes and just jump to the nukes because we all were shoving so much we were guaranteed mutually assured destruction…except for the lone winner.

My question is this:  Is the all-in barrage just the nature of smaller tournaments?  In larger tourney final tables (like a Sunday major) would I see fold, fold, fold, fold, shove, fold, fold like I witnessed at the much lower staked tournaments?  I have yet to watch all of the recent videos with our TPE pros who make the final table, so perhaps my answer lies there.  However, I just wanted to get some opinions and ideas from you guys.

Thanks!

Croc1

RonFezBuddy
New York City

TPE Management
Forum Posts: 2313
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
January 3, 2011 - 1:37 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print

were you playing turbos?  If so then that's your answer – the stacks are shallower.  Usually FTs are not shovefests.  There might be some shoving early on from a few of the smaller stacks but then things will stabilize and deeper stacks will emerge.

Croc1
Guests
January 4, 2011 - 10:24 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print